Improving Behavior Outcomes For Students with Autism: How Communication Strategies Can Help

Thursday, October 28th

2:00 PM ET 1:00 pm CT 12:00 PM MT 11:00 AM PT

Register for the Webinar

by filling out this form

Presented By: Mo Buti, M.Ed-BD, M.Ed-Admin, QIDP / Ashley Larisey

Vocal outbursts. Throwing objects. Meltdowns.

 

If you work with students with autism, you may know that many don’t have formal and effective systems of communication. In the absence of this essential skill, disruptive behavior may serve as a substitute. This may mean that more of your time is spent managing behavior than instruction.

 

In this webinar, Mo Buti, M.Ed-BD, M.Ed-Admin and Ashley Larisey, SLP, share several powerful strategies that increase appropriate communication and positive behaviors for learners with autism, including:

 

  • Using project-based learning activities to spark communication exchanges through research, collaboration, and information-sharing.
  • Inspiring authentic communication during shared reading through age-respectful, leveled graphic novels.
  • Incorporating communication options that can help students with ASD “show what they know.”

About the Presenter

Mo Buti, M.Ed-BD, M.Ed-Admin, QIDP

is a practiced professional in the field of special education providing services and support to those with disabilities and their families and schools for over 31 years. She managed autism programs and services for over 6,000 students as Director of Autism and Intellectual Disabilities at Chicago Public Schools. She was also a special education teacher, an autism itinerant and a special education administrator. She is now the owner of AiepA: Advocate and Instructional Expert for People with Autism.

Ashley Larisey

is an SLP at Community High School District 218 in Oak Lawn, Illinois. She is also an Adjunct Clinical Supervisor and Instructor at Saint Xavier University.

CHAT WITH AN EDUCATIONAL SUPPORT SPECIALIST

Chat with a educational support specialist live, schedule a one-on-one phone call or product demonstration today.